How Does the Republic Work?

The Republic of Kanata is a new society growing up within the shell of the old. Citizens are united within a new jurisdiction in local Republican Assemblies that replace the existing Canadian government structures. The Assemblies are legislative bodies where all people can introduce, debate and enact laws in their own communities. These laws are then enforced by Common Law Courts and Sheriffs elected by and answerable to the People.
This process of returning power to the people will span years but it begins today when twelve or more men and women sign a Charter to establish a local Republican Assembly. A copy of this Charter can be found under "Documents of the Republic".


Positions and Responsibilities in a Common Law Republic Assembly

The local Common Law Assembly is the foundation of the new Republic and our means of direct democracy, so we need a strong and reliable leadership core to keep the Assembly going. Everyone must be trained to take responsibility and hold these positions so that no one person or faction runs the Assembly.

Here are the positions that need to be filled for the Assembly to function. Each one of these people will be on a Steering Committee that coordinates the Assembly’s work, and so they need to be elected for a set period of time that will be decided by the Assembly:

1.   Convener:

a)   Creates an agenda for each Assembly meeting and chairs it.

b)   Arranges a co-Convener to chair meetings in case of illness or absence.


2.    Secretary:

a) Keeps the minutes of Assembly meetings.

b) Maintains a membership and contact list.

c) Corresponds with other Assemblies and with the Republic’s Central Office.


3.    Sheriff:

a) Provides security at all meetings and public events and eventually for our local

    Common Law Court and Tribunal.

b) Delivers Summonses, Orders, and other Assembly documents.

c) Recruits and trains Deputies.

d) Organizes an Urgent Response Network to protect our members.

e) Recruits and trains a local Citizens’ Defense Militia.


4.    Education Committee Coordinator:

a)   Plans and organizes (with other volunteers) all educational work within the Assembly (like holding classes on Common Law) and outside the Assembly (like preparing leaflets, press releases and public information material).

b)   Organizes the education and training of new members.

c)    Does background research on different topics and prepares material for the Assembly.


5.   Action Committee Coordinator:

a)   Plans and organizes (with other volunteers) all public actions and events, like protests, picnics, and rallies. 

b)   Plans direct actions in conjunction with the Sheriff and Deputies.


6.   Judicial and Legal Coordinator:

a)   Plans and organizes the Common Law Court and Public Tribunals, and their cases and procedures.

b)   Assembles and trains Court personnel, including the Magistrate, Jury members, Prosecution team, Court recorder and Sheriffs.

c)    Works with the Education Coordinator to provide educational material on the Court and the Law to Assembly members.

d)   Establishes liaison with the Supreme Common Law Court of the Republic.


Note: The Common Law Courts and Tribunals are established by the Assembly as a whole and administered by this Coordinator, who like all Steering Committee officers, are accountable to and recallable by the Assembly.


Issued by the National Council of Common Law Assemblies (NCCLA)

September 4, 2020